Mount Rushmore of the SEC

An SEC Mount Rushmore would not be complete without Herschel; Photo:

It's President's Day and that got us thinking, who would be on college football's Mount Rushmore? Kevin McGuire touched on coaches of the BCS era earlier today. Let's take a look at the biggest conference in the college football landscape, the SEC and since he already touched on coaches, let's stick to the players. Here are the four SEC players who would be on my Mount Rushmore. 

Herschel Walker

Herschel is the standard to which all Georgia, and SEC for that matter, running backs are compared. He was a three-time All-American, finished in the top ten in rushing all three years he played, won the Heisman Trophy (and robbed of another) and led Georgia to a National Championship.

Bo Jackson

For his career, Bo averaged 6.6 ypc which at that time was an SEC record. Bo won the Heisman in 1985 when he ran for 1,786 yards but Bo was more than just numbers, he was a machine.

Tim Tebow

While Tim never made it as a pro, there is no denying his talent and success on the college gridiron. On his resume he has a Heisman Trophy, two BCS National Championships, 2 SEC Championships and was named first team All-American twice. 

Peyton Manning

For me, this fourth and final spot is the toughest one. I think the first three are locks but this one is up for much debate. Do you go an offensive lineman who might be the best lineman in college football history but doesn't have the name recognition of others being considered (John Hannah), do you go with a player who only had a one year impact (Cam Newton), do you go with one of the first Heisman Trophy winners (Frank Sinkwich), do you go with another running back (Emmitt Smith), a defensive player (Roy Lee Jordan, Cornelius Bennett, Reggie White) or a Heisman Trophy winner (Steve Spurrier, Danny Wuerffel). 

Despite not winning the big one, Peyton was one of the best ever in the SEC and did what many don't do…he came back for his senior season. As a senior his team won the SEC Championship Game and he won the Maxwell Award, the Davey O'Brien Award and the Johnny Unitas Award and many will tell you that he should have won the 1997 Heisman over Charles Woodson.

More Mount Rushmores from around the Bloguin Network:

BCS Era (Crystal Ball Run)

Notre Dame (Subway Domer)

Penn State (Nittany Lions Den)

About Kevin Causey

Dry humorist, craft beer enthusiast, occasionally unbiased SEC fan, UGA alumni, contributor for The Comeback.