Home Run Derby teams announced

Captains Matt Kemp and Robinson Cano have announced their teams for next Monday's Home Run Derby at the All-Star Game.

Representing the National League along with Kemp will be Giancarlo Stanton of the Marlins, Carlos Beltran of the Cardinals, and Carlos Gonzalez of the Rockies.

Representing the American League along with Cano will be Mark Trumbo of the Angels, Jose Bautista of the Blue Jays, and Prince Fielder of the Tigers.

Back in May, Scott petitioned Major League Baseball to include Stanton and Trumbo in the Derby, because of the mammoth blasts they would provide during the competition. Last week, I wrote about the potential Derby candidates, and including alternates, I correctly picked seven of the eight hitters. The only one I missed was Prince Fielder.

At any rate, this is going to be a highly entertaining affair…well, as highly entertaining as the Home Run Derby can be.

About Joe Lucia

I'm the managing editor of Awful Announcing and the news editor of The Comeback. I also made The Outside Corner a thing for six seasons.