Wil Myers, Jose Fernandez win Rookie of the Year awards

Your 2013 AL Rookie of the Year is Wil Myers of the Tampa Bay Rays, and your 2013 NL Rookie of the Year is Jose Fernandez of the Miami Marlins. 

Myers received 23 of the 30 first place votes in the AL, and finished with 131 points out of a max of 150. Jose Iglesias was the runner-up with five first place votes and 80 points, while Chris Archer was third with one first place vote and 35 points. Dan Straily of the Athletics finished fourth with one first place vote and 15 points, while JB Shuck, Cody Allen, Martin Perez, and David Lough received four, two, two, and one point respectively.

Fernandez received 26 of the 30 first place votes in the NL along with four second place votes to finish with 142 points. Yasiel Puig was the runner-up, receiving four first place votes and 95 points. Shelby Miller finished a distant third to Puig with 12 points, while Hyun-Jin Ryu, Julio Teheran, Jedd Gyorko, Nolan Arenado, and Evan Gattis rounded out the ballot, receiving ten, seven, two, one, and one point respectively.

Myers is the third Ray to win the award in the last six years, joining teammates Evan Longoria and Jeremy Hellickson. In 88 games this year in the majors, Myers hit .293/.354/.478 with 13 homers. He was acquired by the Rays this past offseason from the Royals in the James Shields trade.

Fernandez is the fourth Marlin to win the Rookie of the Year award, joining Dontrelle Willis, Hanley Ramirez, and Chris Coghlan. The 21-year old is also a finalist for the NL Cy Young award after pitching to a 2.19 ERA in 172 2/3 innings, striking out 187 and walking 58.

Congratulations to both men and to the fans of both Florida teams. Tomorrow, the BBWAA will announce the winners of the Manager of the Year awards.

Joe Lucia

About Joe Lucia

I'm the managing editor of Awful Announcing and the news editor of The Comeback. I also made The Outside Corner a thing for six seasons.