Pirates get screwed in Arizona after umpires don’t call interference

Controversy was afoot once again in Phoenix on Sunday, and this isn’t a good look for second base umpire Lance Barrett. Andy Marte grounded into what looked like an inning-ending double play, but Jayson Nix’s throw hit Nick Ahmed in the hands as Ahmed slid into second. Barrett ruled the contact incidental instead of intentional, allowing the game-winning run to score.

When you watch the video, you realize what a joke that call was. Not only did Ahmed raise just his left arm to block the throw, but he was also a huge distance away from second base and was going out of his way to take Nix out on his slide. This wasn’t just interference once, it was interference twice – and neither of them was called, costing Pittsburgh the game.

About Joe Lucia

I'm the managing editor of Awful Announcing and the news editor of The Comeback. I also made The Outside Corner a thing for six seasons.

Quantcast