Was this a goaltend? https://t.co/SZ5PAwOgAL
— Rob Dauster (@RobDauster) March 19, 2015
That’s the shot that decided UCLA’s fate against SMU. That was ruled a goaltend, which gave the Bruins a 60-59 lead. SMU’s Nic Moore missed a pair of shots on the other end for the final. That is certainly a questionable call. It looked live like the shot was way off but it kind of does look like the ball would have hit the rim. I think it can certainly be questioned why Yanick Moreira touched the ball.
UCLA coach Steve Alford said this to CBS after the game:
was the goaltending call a good call steve alford: ‘they called it that way’
— martin rickman (@martinrickman) March 19, 2015
On a Thursday of great plays, that is one that will be debated throughly this weekend.