Arizona bsaeball Credit; Pac-12 Networks

The Arizona Wildcats became the last Pac-12 baseball champions Saturday night, and the Wildcats did it in grand style. Arizona defeated Oregon State in walk-off fashion to earn the win and clinch the final Pac-12 regular-season championship.

Rightfielder Brendan Summerhill will have his name written in the history books forever. Summerhill delivered the final blow to the Beavers, a 2-run double to right-centerfield!

Summerhill’s epic walk-off is the way that the Pac-12 baseball season will go out for good.

Amid sweeping changes in college sports, the Pac-12 is no more. USC and UCLA started a domino effect when they fled for the Big Ten. Oregon and Washington later joined the two LA schools in the Big Ten, setting up a super-conference next season. Meanwhile, Arizona, Arizona State, Colorado, and Utah all will go to the Big XII while Cal and Stanford will play in the ACC. Yes, the Atlantic Coast Conference will house two teams near the Pacific Ocean. It’s just that ridiculous now.

Nonetheless, this was an incredible way for it all to go out. Walk-offs are never not fun, and the ensuing dog pile and Powerade bath only made it better. A heck of a scene there, and one no one will soon forget.

[The Comeback]

About Chris Novak

Chris Novak has been talking and writing about sports ever since he can remember. Previously, Novak wrote for and managed sites in the SB Nation network for nearly a decade from 2013-2022