Monday, the SEC announces its end-of-the-season awards, and some of the results shocked fans.

The conference named Vanderbilt’s Jerry Stackhouse and Texas A&M’s Buzz Williams as Co-SEC Coach of the Year.

This was considered an upset by most because neither Alabama’s Nate Oats, whose team won the regular season SEC title nor Missouri’s Dennis Gates who many believe was more deserving than Stackhouse won the award.

After Alabama was humiliated by the Oklahoma Sooners, the following game, they played Vanderbilt at home and defeated the Commandores by 57 points.

That seems to have fueled Stackhouse’s Commandores to go on a run. They finished with an 11-7 conference record, good enough to finish 6th overall in conference play and find themselves squarely on the bubble for the NCAA Tournament.

Williams lead his Aggies to second place in the SEC just a game behind Alabama and was in contention to win the SEC outright until they lost to Mississippi State last week.

Gates lead the Missouri Tigers to 4th place in the SEC ahead of pre-season favorites Tennessee, Kentucky, and Auburn and also ahead of Vandy. And while his team is going to the NCAA Tournament, Stackhouse and the Commandores are probably headed to the NIT.

As for the SEC Player and Freshman of the Year, both awards went to Alabama’s Brandon Miller. This also may come as a surprise to many because of the allegations against the freshman. Many thought he may not win the award, but clearly, the SEC coaches couldn’t ignore the season he has had.

Fan opinions on the award winners varied.

While most fans were upset with Miller winning the award, others disagreed.

Miller led the SEC in scoring with 19 points per game.


About Stacey Mickles

Stacey is a 1995 graduate of the University of Alabama who has previously worked for other publications such as Sportskeeda and Saturday Down South.