The call that ended the Dodgers win over the Giants on Saturday was controversial The call that ended the Dodgers win over the Giants on Saturday was controversial

The Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the San Francisco Giants 4-2 on Saturday. It appeared as though the Dodgers would cruise to victory as they led 4-0 with two outs in the bottom of the ninth inning. But the Giants rallied, scoring two runs and bringing up Austin Slater, who already had two hits on the day, to the plate as the go-ahead run with the tying run on base. Then, things got controversial.

David Price was on the mound for Los Angeles and got the count to 2-2 against Slater. The 2-2 pitch from the left-handed Price had a lot of movement and ended up inside to the right-handed hitting Slater. Home plate umpire Ramon DeJesus rang Slater up, ending the game, giving the Dodgers the 4-2 win over the Giants.

There are two ways of looking at this play. One is that while it sure looks like the pitch should have been called a ball, it was far too close for Slater to look at with two strikes. Protecting the plate has kind of gone the way of the dinosaur in the current era, where strikeouts from hitters are more accepted. But with two strikes and the game on the line, you can’t rely on the umpire to call a close pitch correctly.

Of course, there’s another way of looking at it. That while Slater probably should have tried to fight the pitch off, it was inside. The fact that Slater should have swung doesn’t make the call any more correct.

The MLB world was critical of the call on the game’s final pitch.

Make no mistake, we’ve seen worse calls from MLB umpires this year. While it may not have crossed the plate in the strike zone, it moved through it. Price’s pitch had a lot of movement on it and was at 94 mph. That was not an easy call for DeJesus.

But while that’s a defense of DeJesus, it’s also a reason to advocate for robot umpires moving forward. Pitchers simply throw too hard and with too much movement to rely on umpires to call pitches on the corners correctly. The Fact that DeJesus was consistently calling strikes on the inside corner throughout the game only furthers that point.

[Fox Sports: MLB on Twitter]

About Michael Dixon

Michael is a writer and editor for The Comeback Media. He is Bay Area native living in the Indianapolis area. Michael is also a big nerd when it comes to sports history and to a slightly lesser extent, all history. Beyond that, loves tacos, pizza and random Seinfeld quotes.

Feel free to voice your agreements or disagreements. If you do so respectfully, Michael will gladly respond in kind.

Twitter: @mfdixon1985 (mostly personal but a lot of sports)/@mdixonsports (All work/sports related)