Weird shit happens all the time in Major League Baseball. I can’t remember something like *this* happening, though.
In the bottom of the third inning of Tuesday’s Braves-Nationals game, Juan Soto of the Nationals hit a ball deep to left center field. Ender Inciarte jumped to grab the ball, but couldn’t make the catch. The ball deflected back into the field of play, where left fielder Adam Duvall caught it. Duvall threw the ball back into the infield, where Trea Turner retreated back to first base to avoid a double play.
Replays were inconclusive as to whether or not the ball hit off of Inciarte’s glove, or if it hit off the wall. If the ball hit his glove, Soto would have been out on an 8-7 flyout (which isn’t something you see too often in the box score). If the ball hit the wall, it would have still be a live ball, and Soto wouldn’t have been out at all.
So, what’s the call? The umpires ended up ruling that the ball hit the wall, but Soto was out because he passed the retreating Turner on the basepaths.
That is…probably the correct call? The umpires couldn’t exactly award Soto first base and put Turner at second, considering he voluntarily retreated. Turner beat the throw back to first, so he wouldn’t get called out for any reason as the lead runner. Soto *did* pass Turner on the bases, so calling him out for the violation seems to be the best possible outcome here. Otherwise, you reward Turner for going back to first base on his own.