Does Pete Carroll realize he doesn’t have unlimited challenges?

Seattle Seahawks head coach Pete Carroll and the referee crew for tonight’s Rams/Seahawks game obviously didn’t see eye-to-eye. After winning his first two replay challenges, Carroll earned his third replay challenge and wasted no time in challenging an apparently bad spot that resulted in a fourth and one with just 13 minutes left in the second quarter.

Third time wasn’t so lucky for Carroll as he was unsuccessful. Despite that, the Seahawks went for it on fourth down and while they failed to convert, a Rams penalty gave them a new set of downs. The Seahawks would then kick a field goal to go up 10-0.

People got a real kick out of Carroll’s penchant for throwing the challenge flag.

Defying conventional logic, I’m pretty sure that was the earliest a head coach had ever used three replay challenges in a game. Maybe Carroll had a point in reviewing these plays but he should know that you only get up to three challenges in a game. And if something happens at a crucial point toward the end of the game, just like saving timeouts, you’re going to wish you had saved a challenge.

Then again, it’s the Rams. So as long as the Seahawks don’t screw things up, they should be winning by at least two touchdowns by the fourth quarter. But seriously Pete, have someone else in charge of throwing the flag because I think you may have a problem.

[Photo: Elaine Thompson/AP]

About Phillip Bupp

News editor for The Comeback and Awful Announcing, highlight consultant for Major League Soccer as well as a freelance writer for hire. Opinions are my own but feel free to agree with them.

Follow me on Twitter @phillipbupp