Lucas Zelarayán (10) celebrates with Columbus teammates after scoring during the MLS Cup Final. Dec 12, 2020; Columbus, Ohio, USA; Columbus Crew midfielder Lucas Zelarrayan (10) celebrates after scoring a goal against the Seattle Sounders in the second half during the 2020 MLS Cup Final at MAPFRE Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Trevor Ruszkowski-USA TODAY Sports

Just over three years after it looked like they would be moving to Austin, the Columbus Crew have won the MLS Cup. The Crew eventually stayed in Ohio after a long relocation fight that ended with Cleveland Browns owners  Jimmy and Dee Haslam and former team doctor Pete Edwards buying the team and former owner Anthony Precourt getting an expansion team in Austin. And on Saturday, they beat the Seattle Sounders 3-0 to claim the MLS Cup, doing so in what’s probably the last game at their current home field, MAPFRE Stadium. Here are the goals from that game, with goals from Lucas Zelarayán (#10, seen above celebrating his second goal with teammates) in the 25th and 82nd minute and a goal from Derrick Etienne in the 32nd:

The Crew were one of MLS’ 10 inaugural franchises in 1996, and this marks their second MLS Cup title (they had also won in 2008). They have also picked up three Supporters’ Shield (regular-season champion) titles in 2002, 2008, and 2009, and a US Open Cup title in 2002. But it’s neat to see them pick up their first title in more than a decade, and to do so not long after many thought that they would be moving.

[; photo from Trevor Ruszkowski-USA Today Sports]

About Andrew Bucholtz

Andrew Bucholtz has been covering sports media for Awful Announcing since 2012. He is also a staff writer for The Comeback. His previous work includes time at Yahoo! Sports Canada and Black Press.