When is a two-run home run not a two-run home run? When the batter hitting the homer passes a base runner in front of him at first base and just one run scores.

One of the more bizarre plays you will see this season around Major League Baseball was witnessed in Miami in a game between the Marlins and Milwaukee Brewers. J.T. Realmuto took one deep over the fence in the bottom of the second inning. As he was making his turn around first base, he briefly passed teammate Marcell Ozuna. Ozuna was doubling back to first base, apparently thinking there was a chance the home run ball was caught.

The umpires got together to talk it over before getting on the headsets with the review center in New York after the Brewers issued a challenge. After an instant replay, one run was taken off the board for the Marlins, cutting a 2-run homer to just a one.

If you have ever heard someone say you will see something new every time you watch a baseball game, this is what they are talking about. It will not be very often you see a scoreless game broken up by a two-run home run leading to a 1-0 difference on the scoreboard.

But you saw it tonight.

About Kevin McGuire

Contributor to NBCSports.com's College Football Talk, Athlon Sports and The Comeback. Host of the No 2-Minute Warning Podcast on iTunes, Stitcher Radio and iHeart Radio. FWAA member and Philadelphia-area resident.