Big 12 Mandatory Credit: Jay Biggerstaff-USA TODAY Sports

The Big 12 is going to need a new name.

As expected, the conference officially added three new schools Friday night: Arizona, Arizona State and Utah, all bolting from the reeling Pac-12. The conference had already added former Pac-12 team Colorado in late July.

The Big 12 now will field 16 teams beginning with the 2024-2025 school year.

Commissioner Brett Yormark welcomed the new members in a statement after the conference’s Board of Directors voted unanimously to add the three new schools.

“We are thrilled to welcome Arizona, Arizona State and Utah to the Big 12,” Yormark said. “The Conference is gaining three premier institutions both academically and athletically, and the entire Big 12 looks forward to working alongside their presidents, athletic directors, student-athletes and administrators.”

It’s an impressive, somewhat surprising rebound for the Big 12, which suffered a big blow with the previously announced departures of football juggernauts Oklahoma and Texas for the 2024 season. But on July 1 the Big 12 officially welcomed BYU, Central Florida, Cincinnati and Houston, which will all begin play in the conference this season.

When Arizona, Arizona State, Colorado and Utah join in 2024, the Big 12 will swell to 16 teams.

The college football world congratulated the new Big 12 additions and hailed the conference for its amazing and quick recovery after the devastating losses of Texas and Oklahoma.


About Arthur Weinstein

Arthur spends his free time traveling around the U.S. to sporting events, state and national parks, and in search of great restaurants off the beaten path.