Ángel Hernández Jul 9, 2022; Arlington, Texas, USA; Umpire Angel Hernandez (5) smiles during a break in action during the eighth inning of a baseball game between the Minnesota Twins and Texas Rangers at Globe Life Field. The Rangers one 9-7. Mandatory Credit: Jim Cowsert-USA TODAY Sports

It’s worth asking at this point if Major League Baseball actually cares that Ángel Hernández directly affects every game that he’s been behind the plate before. It was a problem in the last game Hernández was behind the plate. It was a problem when Hernández was behind the plate for Saturday’s New York Yankees-Miami Marlins game. It’ll be a problem when Hernández is behind the plate again.

In the top of the seventh inning of Saturday’s contest, Hernández had MLB fans up in arms again.

The first pitch of Billy McKinney’s at-bat against Miami’s Sandy Alcántara was called a ball. It was clearly in the zone. In fact, it wasn’t even close to not being a strike. The third pitch, which was outside the zone, was, of course, called a strike. Naturally. Then, the fifth pitch of the at-bat to New York’s McKinney was even more clearly a strike than the first pitch. And Hernández called it a ball.

As Twitter user, Rob Friedman, who runs the Pitching Ninja account pointed out, it’s like flipping a coin when it comes Ángel.

Codify Baseball pointed out another instance during the game, which happened to be in the next half inning, in which Hernández called a strike that was a ball during an at-bat between Jhony Brito and Jazz Chsiolm Jr.

Those in the MLB world were quick to react to the latest blunder on Hernández’s long list of misdeeds:

[Pitching Ninja, Codify Baseball on Twitter]

About Sam Neumann

Since the beginning of 2023, Sam has been a staff writer for Awful Announcing and The Comeback. A 2021 graduate of Temple University, Sam is a Charlotte native, who currently calls Greenville, South Carolina his home. He also has a love/hate relationship with the New York Mets and Jets.