(Photo by Dilip Vishwanat-USA TODAY Sports) Terrell Owens

The Pro Football Hall of Fame will welcome a class for the ages this summer.

According to ESPN’s Adam Schefter, Ray Lewis, Randy Moss, Brian Urlacher, Brian Dawkins, Terrell Owens, Jerry Kramer, Robert Brazile and Bobby Beathard have all earned induction this cycle, making for one of the most loaded classes in Hall of Fame history.

The big story here is that Terrell Owens finally got the votes he needed during his third year of eligibility. T.O. ranks second all-time in receiving yards, third in receiving touchdowns and eighth in receptions but fell short in his first two tries on the ballot, apparently due to resentment over what some saw as a prima donna persona.

Lewis, Moss, Urlacher and Dawkins were all voted into the Hall during their first year eligibility, and no one will argue much with their selections. Lewis was a two-time Defensive Player of the Year, a Super Bowl MVP and a 13-time Pro Bowler. Many analysts consider him the best linebacker of all-time. Urlacher was a damn good linebacker himself, reaching eight Pro Bowls and winning a Defensive Player of the Year trophy of his own. Moss led the league in receiving touchdowns five times and ranks in the top-five all-time in both both receiving yards and scores. Dawkins was one of the fiercest safeties in the league, reaching nine Pro Bowls as a member of the Eagles and Broncos.

Kramer, Brazile and Beathard aren’t quite as famous as the other five inductees, but all had stellar careers of their own. Kramer was a stalwart on the Packers’ offensive line during their 1950s-60s dynasty and had been called the best player not in the Hall of Fame. Brazile reached five Pro Bowls as a linebacker for the Houston Oilers from 1975-84. Beathard is one of the most accomplished executives in NFL history, reaching seven Super Bowls and winning four while overseeing franchises in Kansas City, Miami, Washington and San Diego.

Though the Hall of Fame class has not yet been officially announced as of this writing, Owens has already celebrated his election on Instagram.

CONGRATS to the HOF CLASS OF 2018. We’re GOLDEN! ?

A post shared by Terrell Owens (@terrellowens) on

And as for whether T.O. has forgiven the people who argued against his induction for two years… we’ll let this tweet speak for itself.

About Alex Putterman

Alex is a writer and editor for The Comeback and Awful Announcing. He has written for The Atlantic, VICE Sports, MLB.com, SI.com and more. He is a proud alum of Northwestern University and The Daily Northwestern. You can find him on Twitter @AlexPutterman.

Comments are closed.