Bill Self LAWRENCE, KS – FEBRUARY 27: Bill Self head coach of the Kansas Jayhawks claps for his team as they celebrate winning the Big 12 Conference Championship after they defeated Texas Tech Red Raiders 67-58 at Allen Fieldhouse on February 27, 2016 in Lawrence, Kansas. With the win, Kansas clinched its 12th straight conference championship. (Photo by Ed Zurga/Getty Images)

Bill Self will be in Lawrence, Kansas for life. The Kansas Jayhawks announced on Tuesday that the men’s basketball program and Self agreed to terms on a contract extension that keeps Self at KU for the foreseeable future.

The Hall of Famer has won two National Championships at Kansas, most recently in 2022.

“Hall of Fame Coach Bill Self signs amended lifetime contract with KU,” the Kansas Men’s Basketball program announced. The program made the announcement on X, the popular website formerly known as Twitter.

Making this move was probably a no-brainer on all sides, especially after the NCAA case with Kansas came and went without much scuttle.

At Kansas, Self is 580-132, a winning percentage of a whopping .815. He is 276-68 against the Big 12 since 2003-04. The program won fourteen consecutive Big 12 regular-season championships under Self from 2004-2018. That streak was snapped in the 2018-19 season, but since then, the program has won three of the last four Big 12 regular-season titles. Only three times in his coaching career at KU has a Bill Self-coached team not won the conference.

Self’s Jayhawks have won the Big 12 Tournament eight times as well. He’s made three Final Fours – 2008, 2012, and 2022, and has been recognized as the AP College Coach of the Year twice in his career (2009, 2016). He’s also won the Big 12 Coach of the Year Award six times.

The college basketball world had lots to say about the big news on Bill SElf.

[Kansas Men’s Basketball]

About Chris Novak

Chris Novak has been talking and writing about sports ever since he can remember. Previously, Novak wrote for and managed sites in the SB Nation network for nearly a decade from 2013-2022