Big Ten The logo of the Big Ten Conference is seen on a yard marker during Iowa Hawkeyes football Kids Day at Kinnick open practice, Saturday, Aug. 14, 2021, at Kinnick Stadium in Iowa City, Iowa. 210814 Ia Fb Kids Day 109 Jpg

The Big Ten welcomes the USC Trojans and UCLA Bruins into the fold in 2024. As such, the conference released the 2024 and 2025 conference football schedules on Thursday to showcase what fans can expect when those two iconic programs join the traditionally Midwestern conference.

Conferences schedules will include 11 protected matchups that will “continue to be played annually and feature a combination of historic and geographic rivalries, as well as trophy games,” according to The Athletic. “These matchups were set to “ensure the traditions of the Big Ten Conference remain strong as the conference evolves.”

The guaranteed annual protected matchups are Illinois-Northwestern, Illinois-Purdue, Indiana-Purdue, Iowa-Minnesota, Iowa-Nebraska, Iowa-Wisconsin, Maryland-Rutgers, Michigan-Michigan State, Michigan-Ohio State, Minnesota-Wisconsin and UCLA-USC.

Most notably, none of the protected rivalries include the Penn State Nittany Lions.

“The conference is playing nine games, there’s a commitment to continue to do that,” Big Ten commissioner Tony Petitti said on The Rich Eisen Show earlier this week. “Everything was studied. I think you’ll see in really short order some information coming out about how we’re going to play and how we’re going to organize around our college football schedule. It’s just days away.”

The CFB world was quick to react to the scheduling, which includes quirks like USC playing at Hawaii and Rutgers in the same season: