Heisman Trophy Syndication: Gainesville Sun

The 2022 Heisman Trophy ceremony is set to take place on Saturday, December 10,  and we now know who the four finalists for college football’s most prestigious individual award are.

TCU’s Max Duggan, USC’s Caleb Williams, Ohio State’s C.J. Stroud, and Georgia’s Stetson Bennett are the four finalists for the Heisman Trophy.

Notably, all four finalists for this year’s award are quarterbacks. So, six of the last seven winners will be quarterbacks. Former Alabama standout and current Philadelphia Eagles wide receiver Devonta Smith is the only non-quarterback to win in that stretch.

It is also notable that three of the four players up for this year’s award are on teams that made it into the College Football Playoff, with USC and Caleb Williams being the only exception.

While each of these players clearly has an argument for the award, some around the college football world believe that Michigan running back Blake Corum deserved to be a finalist.

Of the finalists chosen, it seems that Stetson Bennett may be the one that many believe should be replaced. Though, it’s worth mentioning that the vote is already in. So, Bennett is a “finalist” over Corrum because he received more votes.

And Bennett has a clear argument, leading the top team in the country to an undefeated record with some big wins in the top football conference in the country.

It has largely been believed that Caleb Williams may have locked up the Heisman Trophy following his amazing performance last month against Notre Dame.

Even after the loss to Utah, he remains the favorite. The odds after the finalists were revealed on Monday certainly reflect that, with Williams currently sitting as a -2500 favorite to win the award on BetMGM.

[Field Yates on Twitter]

About Reice Shipley

Reice Shipley is a staff writer for Comeback Media that graduated from Ithaca College with a degree in Sports Media. He previously worked at Barrett Sports Media and is a fan of all things Syracuse sports.