Manager Challenges Rays Giants Photo Credit: NBC Sports Bay Area Photo Credit: NBC Sports California.

Many players go an entire season without being involved in a manager challenge play.

Tampa Bay Rays star Jose Siri found himself involved in two challenge plays in less than 90 seconds Friday night, thanks to a couple of truly baffling umpire calls.

In the bottom of the fourth inning, Siri took a check swing and clearly hit San Francisco Giants catcher Patrick Bailey’s glove, about as textbook an example of catcher’s interference as one can find. However, home plate umpire Clint Vondrak did not call interference.

“That’s about as obvious a catcher’s interference as you’re going to see,” said NBCS Bay Area play-by-play man Duane Kuiper.

The Rays challenged and after a review Siri was awarded first base.

On the very next pitch, Siri took off for second. Bailey made a perfect throw and appeared to easily catch him stealing, but Siri inexplicably got ruled safe.

“Bailey’s got it, here’s the throw, on the money,” Kuiper said. Then after seeing the safe call: “I’m a bad umpire from up here, I gotta tell you.”

The Giants immediately challenged the play, and Siri was ruled out.

It’s rare to see two such terrible calls and manager challenges on back-to-back plays, with the same player involved. Kuiper certainly found the situation interesting.

“We’re gonna name this bottom of the fourth the overturn inning.” Kuiper said.

[Photo Credit: NBC Sports California]

About Arthur Weinstein

Arthur spends his free time traveling around the U.S. to sporting events, state and national parks, and in search of great restaurants off the beaten path.