With less than a week to go until Selection Sunday, Wednesday was Selection Wednesday for the College Basketball Hall of Fame, which announced its 2017 Hall of Fame Class.

The 12th ever College Basketball Hall of Fame class includes three star players in Tim Duncan (Wake Forest), John Stockton (Gonzaga), and Jay Williams (Duke).

The three are joined by three more players and a great head coach to make up the seven member class: Rick Mount (Purdue), Cleo Hill (Winston-Salem State), Scott May (Indiana), Paul Silas (Creighton), and head coach Bo Ryan (Wisconsin, Milwaukee, and Wisconsin-Platteville).

The induction ceremony for the seven new Hall of Famers will coincide with the Hall of Fame Classic on November 19th in Kansas City, Missouri.

Here’s a short resume of the seven new Hall of Famers:

Duncan: Played at Wake Forest from 1993-1997 and led the Demon Deacons to four NCAA Tournaments. Two-time ACC Player of the Year in 1996 and 1997, National College Player of the Year in 1997, and first-team All-American in 1996 and 1997. Duncan’s number 21 was retired by Wake Forest.

Stockton: Played at Gonzaga from 1980-1984, but never made it to the NCAA Tournament. WCC Player of the Year in 1984 and his number 12 was retired by Gonzaga.

Williams: Played at Duke from 1999-2002 and led the Blue Devils to the 2001 NCAA National Title. First-team All-ACC and First-Team All-American in 2001 and 2002. Was named the National College Player of the Year in 2002.

Ryan: Head Coach at Wisconsin-Platteville from 1984-1999, Wisconsin-Milwaukee from 1999-2001, and Wisconsin from 2001-2015. Overall head coaching record is 747-233 (.762 winning percentage). Led the Badgers to the Final Four in 2014 and 2015, won the Big Ten Regular Season Title four times, and Big Ten Tournament three times. Named the Clair Bee Coach of the Year in 2007 and was named Big Ten Coach of the Year four times.

Mount: Played at Purdue from 1967-1970 and was named a first-team All-American in 1969 and 1970, the same years he was named the Big Ten Silver Basketball winner. Led the Boilermakers to the NCAA Title game in 1969, but lost to UCLA.

Hill: The Winston-Salem State star passed away in 2015 at the age of 77. Hill averaged 25.4 points per game at WSSU and helped the program win consecutive CIAA titles in 1960 and 1961.

May: Played at Indiana from 1972-1976 and led the Hoosiers to the 1976 NCAA Title against Michigan. That same year in 1976, May won the following awards: Naismith College Player of the Year, Adolph Rupp Trophy, Helms Foundation Player of the Year, Helms Foundation Player of the Year, AP College Player of the Year, NABC Player of the Year, UPI College Player of the Year, and Sporting News College Player of the Year. May was named a first-team All-American in 1975 and 1976.

Silas: Forward at Creighton from 1961-1964. Second-team NABC All-American and Third-team AP and UPI All-American in 1964. His number 35 is retired by Creighton.


About David Lauterbach

David is a writer for The Comeback. He enjoyed two Men's Basketball Final Four trips for Syracuse before graduating in 2016. If The Office or Game of Thrones is on TV, David will be watching.